St Michael's

Church of England Academy

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media



This is the Early Years curriculum all nurseries follow alongside the expected outcomes for each age and stage (Development Matters). The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.


Please click link below to access the framework.



This is the EYFS non-statutory guidance that supports practitioners in implementing the statutory requirements of the EYFS. 


The EYFS underpins all future learning by supporting, promoting and developing children's learning through three primary areas, four specific areas and the characteristics of effective learning.


Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design


Characteristics of Effective Learning

  • Playing and exploring – Children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’.
  • Active learning – Children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements.
  • Creating and thinking critically – Children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.


Please click link below to access the guidance.



Further information on the EYFS can be found here:


Guidance on your child's learning and development can be found here:


What to Expect When 

Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time. The 'What to Expect When' booklet has been designed to help parents/ carers find out more about how their child learns and develops during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS.


It has been written to help parents/carers know what to expect during these vitally important years by focusing on the seven areas of learning and development which are covered in the EYFS.


In Nurture Nursery we discuss the document with parents at the home visit, as it gives us important information about a child's learning and development at home, and helps us to plan for individual children's needs when they start in our nursery.